RSS

Short Story: Fighting for our lives

22 Jun

We were staying in our tents, hunger was killing us , our food supplies has finished , and we did not touch a piece of bread for the last three days. We were waiting for the messenger to come back from the back line and the main camp , he was sent to tell the officer at the main camp that our supplies has finished and we need supplies and enforcement troops to back us up.

Time went by slowly , it was our only chance to survive , I thought to myself.

After spending three months on the front line, we were supposed to go back to the back lines and to leave the frontline after the enforcement troops arrive, but our supplies finished two weeks earlier from the supposed date, getting extra supplies from the back line will make sure we will stay alive for the rest of the month and make sure we will be well fed to have the necessary energy to continue fighting and defending our trenches.

US soldier in the Phillipines during World War II

Image via Wikipedia

“If they really want us to defend these trenches , with our lives they should give us some food ” one of my friends was saying.

Then I remembered my wife, I only got to enjoy one year of marriage with her before the war began , and I had to join the army and leave her.

“Will I get the chance to see her again”

” If we continue staying this way, we will die of hunger and I will not even leave this trench” I was saying to myself.

Then I heard some noise, and loud shouts , the messenger came everyone ran towards him , he was supposed to come with the extra supplies that we asked for… but he was empty handed.

“What happened??? where are the supplies?? Are they going to send it later?? Did they promise you they will give us enough supplies??” All the soldiers wanted to know what happened and why did he came back empty-handed.

However the messenger, did not answer any of these questions, he just rushed to the officer tent.

All the soldiers were standing outside the tent , waiting to see the outcome of what is going to happen , and will their life be saved and will they be able to get enough supplies to keep them alive?

After ten minutes which passed slowly like ten years , the officer came out of the tent , he looked at us , our faces dirty with mud, our clothes plain and old, he looked at us with a sad face.

“There will be no extra supplies for now, we will have to wait till the enforcement troops come and only then we will get what we want” with that he turned backwards and entered his tent.

” Are they Crazy???

They want us to die of hunger, how can we fight when we don’t have anything to eat??” said one of the angry soldiers.

I left them arguing and went inside the trench it was my shift time now,  ” I will never get the chance to see my family and wife again” I thought…

“When they come, we should surrender!!” said the man standing next to me

He was looking at me as expecting me o answer him back

” Even if we surrender, they will still kill us , they are merciless ”

“If we keep on fighting we might have the chance to win the battle, and survive” said I

” Win?? Win?? hahahaha ( he broke into loud laughter)

How on Earth can we win , when we are starving , they dont even send us extra food, do you think they will send us enforcement troops if we are under attack???? They will just leave us here to die” said the man.

For a second I thought about what he was saying , He was right!!

If they don’t even send us food to eat , Will they send us some back up if we are under attack??

At that time, I wished I could be near my wife reading my newspaper and enjoying my time.

But that will never happen… Time went by fast and soon I found my self half a sleep laying on the ground, and it was night-time…. my stomach was giving me so much pain that I wanted to shout with the top of my voice , but even if I shout or scream , I will still be hungry and there will be no food to eat.

I started hearing noises , the noise grew louder and louder each second , ” What is that sound?? the sound was familiar to me, but I could not recognize it”

Until I heard the screams ” They are coming!!! They are coming!!!” and then I remembered what the sound was , it was the sound of Tanks.

“Oh my God, They have brought tanks with them,

how are we going to STOP them??”

Fear struck my soul,  I don’t remember being afraid as much as this time before, we can fight and stop their soldiers from advancing , but how are we going to stop their tanks???

The strongest weapon that we have got were our machine guns, but there is no way we can stop those heavy guns with just machine guns.

“Lets Go , Lets surrender”

“This is our only chance to live, There is no way we can stop them ”

said the man beside me, he was shivering with fear , I continued firing my machine gun , as I saw him waking out of the trench , ” Get back, they will shoot you” I screamed at him

but no use he just continued walking, he held up his arms high trying to show them that he is giving up and surrendering , that is when bullets down on him , they shot  him with a dozen of bullets,

at that time , I stood there shaking , I couldn’t move , just stood there watching him as he fell to the ground, by this time there tanks were advancing really fast , and I turned my head and looked to the trench which was next, only to me to see the other two soldiers which were in the trench laying down on the ground dead.

“Oh my god” this was all I could say

At this moment , I heard a loud noise , it was the noise made by the flying fighters(airplanes) ,

“Is this real???”

It only took ten minutes for the plane fighters to destroy some of their tanks, however most of their tanks retreated quickly as they did not want their tanks to be destroyed , we were saved , their attack was halted, but many of my friends and comrades lost their life.

However , I was lucky to stay alive as the next day was the happiest day of my life , as the enforcement troops arrived and I was given a holiday for a week, and was allowed to go back to visit my wife and family, but no matter what happens I will never forget that day, The Day on which We were Fighting for our lives.

Other Short Stories:

Short Story: Joe is not studying

Please tell me what you think of this story ???

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Short Story: Fighting for our lives

  1. Purificadoras

    0 at 0

    So i am absolutely pleased to check this out. Here is the design normal that ought to be acknowledged bad the exact unintentional untruths that has been ourite various web blogs. Recognize the value of your actual giving the idea most excellent doctor.

     

Leave a Reply

 
